Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees meets the third Monday of every month. The public is invited to come to the meetings, which are at 7:00. Meetings are held in the Lloyd Room at the Winnetka Public Library except April & November, when the meetings are held at the Northfield Branch.

The members of the board are:
Jean-Paul Ruiz-Funes, President • term expires in 2021 • • 847-778-5373
Travis Gosselin, Vice President • term expires in 2023 • • 312-498-7991
Deborah Vandergrift, Treasurer • term expires in 2023• • 847-386-6390
Suzie Shoup, Secretary, Northfield Village Liaison • term expires in 2021 • • 847-609-2014
Raheela Gill Anwar • term expires in 2021 • • 847-784-1822
Brian Johnson • term expires in 2022 • • 847-446-0141
Vacant Position (On appointment term expires 2021)

Rebecca Wolf – Library Director •

Email the Board of Trustees at

Board Meeting Schedule and Minutes

Board Trustee Bylaws

2016-2020 Strategic Plan

The Board of Trustees of the Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District is seeking a candidate to fill a vacancy through 2021.

The recent is a vacancy on the Library Board following the recent resignation of a Trustee who has moved out of the District. The open position would have a term of two years until 2021. Submission of applications for the vacant post will be accepted until August 19, 2019.

Submit your application here.

The Board is currently planning to interview selected candidates at the September 4th Library Board of Trustees Study session.

If you have questions or are interested in further details please contact: Jean-Paul Ruiz-Funes, Library Board President at

Primary roles of the Board of Trustees at the Winnetka-Northfield Public Library District:

  1. Advocate for the library in the community and advocate for the community as a member of the library board. To be a library advocate is to work for the betterment of library services for the community.
  2. Plan for the future of the library. Planning is one of the most important trusts that the community gives to the library board. Planning is deciding what is going to happen with library services over the next few years. It is taking charge of the library’s future and creating it to be responsive to what the community needs.
  3. Monitor and evaluate the overall effectiveness of the library. The community puts its trust in the library board to make sure the library is operating the way it should. For example, the library board is familiar with the library’s budget – where the money is coming from and how it will be spent. The board monitors monthly financial reports and approves the bills so they can be paid.
  4. Set library policies. (Policy is a carefully designed, broadly stated, written guideline for actions and decision of the library.) Once adopted by the board, library staff carries out the policies on a day-to-day basis.
  5. Hire and evaluate the library director. The board hires a qualified director to manage the day-to-day operations of the library and works with the director, carefully respecting each other’s roles. The board also regularly evaluates the director to make sure the library operates well and in the best interest of those the library serves.


  • Commitment to provide the best possible library service for the community
  • An abiding interest in the library and the community
  • Readiness to devote time and effort to the duties of trusteeship
  • Ability to work with people, lead meetings and communicate effectively
  • Must live in Winnetka or Northfield